Troy Block Party

A few weeks ago my friends Kyra and Sam took me to a block party where they live. It was really cool because there was a HUGE farmers market, and there were food trucks and stuff for kids. But what enjoyed most of all was walking around downtown and seeing the stuff I don’t normally take the time to look at it. I’ve picture it all below!!! 🙂

Proctor's
Proctor’s

For anyone who isn’t aware, Proctor’s is a theater here in upstate New York in Schenectady. What a lot of people don’t know is that it started in Troy, in this building pictured above. Currently, RPI (Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute) owns this building. It’s really sad because they’re not doing anything with it, and it’s literally rotting from the inside out. You can still see the red chairs if you’re tall enough to peak through the boarded windows, and you can still see the grandness the building once had if you close your eyes.

One the outside of the building, RPI students have depicted their art, which is cool,  (still wish they’d do something with the inside though). Here’s some of the art outside:

11503_10202090000920727_1982535423_n

994835_10202090001560743_1272309823_n 1208490_10202090000880726_538544375_n 7.22.94-3.27.10

I know, they’re super good. Also going on in downtown Troy is the “Uncle Sam Project.” Again, RPI students have decorated statues of Uncle Sam with their own ideas and pictures. There are 30 in total, and at some point, the city of Troy will be auctioning them off for people to buy (I want one. :)) Unfortunately, a lot of them have been stolen, or vandalized (I know, people). So, here are some of the ones I was able to find:

The Annotated Uncle Sam The artist actually encouraged people to write on it, creating a new kind of art
The Annotated Uncle Sam
The artist actually encouraged people to write on it, creating a new kind of art
The Engineer Sponsored by RPI, this statue gives a new take on the shapes people are already so familiar with.
The Engineer
Sponsored by RPI, this statue gives a new take on the shapes people are already so familiar with.
Home Based on the streets and homes in Troy/Lansingburgh
Home
Based on the streets and homes in Troy/Lansingburgh
Truly...Uncle Sam Portrays a Store called "Truly Rhe"
Truly…Uncle Sam
Portrays a Store called “Truly Rhe”

There’s so many more, and I even got to see a spot where an Uncle Sam had been stolen(all that remained was the cement block they sit on).

So my lesson here had been to just walk in a place I didn’t know. Now, I did have two people with me who knew the area, however neither had actually taken the time to look at these statues as I wanted to do. So I’m glad they indulged me, and I’m glad I got to explore. I can’t wait for these to go on auction (I’m hoping to get the Home one) and I hope everyone enjoys the art!!!!

Leave a Reply

