Daily Prompt: Sink or Swim

When I was in my freshman year of high school, I was thrown into one of my first situations that I felt totally out of place with. I was one of the band people, kind of quiet, not really into sports, but totally and completely into music. So that summer I went to a Music Academy at a college in the mid-west. And it was my first time away from my family for that long. I had my first experience with a roommate, and I could (essentially) do whatever I wanted. At first it was very scary.

It was a new place, I knew absolutely no one, and my family was states away.

This was one of the best experiences I ever had. My roommate’s name was Cheyenne (this isn’t how she spelled it though, it was something like Shayene), and she was from Oklahoma, so it was neat talking to someone who was used to a completely different world then me. Her mom was a hairdresser, so she would do my hair all the time and we would stay up late just talking.

She was an aspiring singer, and even though we never kept in touch, I often wonder if she achieved her dreams.

This was also the year that I got my cat. Freckle. When a fellow band mate and I were taking a short cut to get to class, I found Freckle soaking wet and cuddled beside a tree. That summer I used all of my spending money to board her until my family came out to see our “end of the month” recitals, and then taking Freckle with us, we drove home. (Took about two or three days).

Freckle

So even though I was super nervous about something so new and unfamiliar, and I felt as though I was just floating along the first week or so, I had an amazing experience and rescued one of the best cats ever. 🙂

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/12/04/prompt-sink-swim/

16 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Sink or Swim”

  1. Pingback: Rob's Surf Report

Leave a Reply

