Daily Prompt: Never Surrender

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2014/03/11/daily-prompt-never-surrender/

Are you stubborn as a grass stain or as easy going as a light breeze on a warm day? Tell us about the ways in which you’re stubborn — which issues make you dig your heels in and refuse to budge?

I’m stubborn. 🙂 And proud of it! 🙂 There are definitely a few things that will get me going more than others, and some things that I can let go of a bit easier.

I’m stubborn about the “obvious” stuff like friends and family, but even though I don’t bring it up much, I’m pretty stubborn on a lot of National Issues too. One of them is LGBT rights. I never gave it much thought as a kid, but as I got older and finally understood what was going on, I can’t say enough how everyone should have equal rights, doesn’t and shouldn’t matter who you’re in love with.

Once when we were having a big family BBQ, everyone was drinking (I know nothing good ever comes from starting like that-lol) and somehow the topic of LGBT came up. My aunt was saying that they should have equal rights, and my dad said that they shouldn’t. My father went on to say that if he ever found out that one of his kids were gay he would disown them. I found out that my youngest brother is bi…..and it ripped my heart out to know that he thinks he can never be himself because of my dad.

Beliefs like this I hold near and dear to my heart, and I’m stubborn in my views of believing that they’re right. Stubborn is a good thing though. It just means you’re willing to fight and stand up for something that you believe strongly in. Where would we be now if it weren’t for stubborn people? 🙂

14 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Never Surrender”

Leave a Reply

